Comment on page
Explanation of Ghostwriter's role-based access controls
In Ghostwriter <= v3.x, the role-based access controls described on this page apply only to the GraphQL API.
User roles are the primary authorization mechanism. There are three user roles:
A Ghostwriter administrator sets a user's role in the admin panel. All accounts are assigned the
userrole by default.
If you look in Hasura you will also see a
publicrole. Only Hasura uses this role. An unauthenticated request (i.e., any request that lacks a valid JWT in a request's
Authorizationheader) is considered to have the
publicrole. Specific webhook endpoints (e.g.,
login) are accessible to this role.
The roles carry the following privileges:
userrole can only access client and project data if they:
- have been assigned to the project
- have been invited to access the client
- have been invited to access the project
Otherwise, this role has the standard permissions you might expect. They can edit or delete their comments, update their profiles, and view the shared information in the various libraries (e.g., findings, domains).
When viewing the project history for a domain, an account with the
userrole will only see project details if they can access the project or the related client.
managerrole can view all clients and projects. The role can also:
- invite others to access client data
- invite others to access project data
- assign others to a project
- edit report templates flagged as protected
If an account is flagged as a Django Superuser that account will automatically inherit the
Client and project invitations must be created via the admin panel (/admin/rolodex/clientinvite/ and /admin/rolodex/projecttinvite/). Access to the admin panel requires an account with
A future release will add an option to invite users from the client and project pages for the
adminrole is only used by the GraphQL API. This role has complete access to everything available via the API. This role can create and manage users and modify fields not exposed to other roles.
Use great care when assigning this role to an account. In general, a user should only ever be a